Skip to content

Falling in love again

September 7, 2011

Teacher Musings:
My last relationship ended pretty badly.  It was really over in April, but we dragged on together until June, since neither one of us was willing to quit.  I felt pretty burned by what happened.  It was like I had given and given, but so often received so little in return.  A lopsided relationship like that doesn’t – or at least shouldn’t – last so long.

So I took some time for myself.  I traveled, spent time with family, meditated, read and enjoyed solitary beers on the porch.  I told myself that it was healthier this way, and that I shouldn’t fall so hard for something that may not love me in return.  But then August rolled around and it happened . . .

I fell in love again.

I tried to remind my heart of what my head knew: it is better to ease into it, not get your hopes up too high.  Every time I throw myself into these relationships I think “this is the ONE!”  And it never is.  I know that.  But I can’t help but think this might be the ONE!  This time it is different – it has so much potential.  So much seems to be going right.  And every time we’re together I am so positive, so motivated and so excited to try new and adventurous things.  Sure, I know there are many flaws.  We’re not a perfect pair.  I’m organized and plan ahead while my object of attraction is often creating last minute changes and doesn’t always take my planning needs into consideration.  But I think I can work with this.  This time I won’t try to change it – I will just accept it for its glories and flaws.

I’ve fallen in love with the positives and potential.  I’m in love with the future I see three months from now.  I’m in love with the couple we can be – working in tandem to make a difference in so many lives, achieving our goals, supporting each other through it all.  Maybe this time it’s the one.  Maybe this time instead of a break–up in June, we’ll just take a “break” for a couple months, and then come back ready to start where we left off.  I’m ready to settle down a little bit.  And I’ve been through enough of these relationships that I know what I’m really looking for and what I’m willing to compromise on.  Maybe I have enough wisdom now.  Maybe this time I won’t get burned.  Maybe this is the ONE.  I’m so filled with excitement, anticipation and hope.

I’m in love again.  And I can’t wait to see where we are in June.

Anyone else excited about the school year?

Yummy Stuff:
This year I’m bringing my lunch to work (nothing new) but now the fridge and microwaves are two floors down.  So, in my attempts to simplify my lunch, I’ve been making bean and grain “salads” and topping them with baked tofu.  I used to buy baked tofu before we were on the “one salary” budget.  Now that I have learned how to bake it myself I feel a bit silly for ever doing this – baking tofu is so easy!  Below is a marinade recipe adapted from Veganomicon (which also taught me how to bake tofu) and the instructions.  Feel free to insert your own marinade and follow the same instructions for tasty, chewy tofu that is good both warm and room temperature!  You can top salads (like I do) or wrap it in a tortilla, or eat it on a sandwich – the possibilities are endless!

Baked (Italian) Tofu

Ingredients:
14 oz block of tofu
1/4 white wine
2 TB balsamic vinegar
1 TB olive oil
1 TB tamari soy sauce
2 sprigs thyme
1 tsp basil

Directions:
1. Pressing the tofu: Place the tofu on a plate with a bit of a rim (it will need to hold in about 2TB of water from the tofu).  Place another plate on top of the tofu and then put something heavy on that plate (like a large can of tomatoes, a couple cook books, your stacks of student papers . . . you get the idea).  Let that sit for about 1/2 hour – or longer!

2. Making the marinade: Mix the rest of the ingredients in a dish or container with a lid.  I have found that square Ziplock “tupperware” (designed for sandwiches) work well.

3. Slicing the tofu: Take the tofu off the plate and discard the water that has been pressed out of the tofu.  Turn the tofu on its side and slice it into 1/3s – you should have three short but wide rectangles.  Cut these all in half, and then cut each half into two triangles.  Bottom line – at the end you should have 12 triangles of tofu.  Place the tofu in the marinade.

4. Marinate the tofu: Let the tofu sit in the marinade for at least an hour – I usually let it sit overnight.  Turn it over for a bit at the end to get the top layers marinated.

5. Baking the tofu: Pre-heat the oven to 400.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or foil.  Place the tofu triangles on baking sheet and put them in the over for 20 minutes.  Flip them over and then bake for another 10 minutes.  Pull them out and let the cool.

From → Lunch, Reflection, Tofu

2 Comments
  1. Sarah L. permalink

    This post is awesome, and I’m totally feeling it, as crazy as that seems!

  2. Doesn’t sound crazy at all – the longer the feeling lasts the better 🙂

Leave a Reply

