Skip to content

A Busy Vegan Teacher

October 3, 2011

Teacher Musings:
Today was one of those days that really kicked my butt. I (as well as my student-teacher) were observed and videotaped all day, I had a meeting to de-brief these lessons during lunch, followed by lunch duty during my planning block, followed by more classes and meetings straight through until 5:00. Oy. I try and reflect on my lessons each day, but today I can hardly think straight, let alone reflectively. I guess that is why I have the video of my lesson today. I want to watch it, but I also dread it. I think I’ll save it for the weekend after I’ve had a chance to breathe.

Yummy Stuff:
Because I have so many lunch meetings/de-brief sessions this year I have started bringing a cold lunch. While sandwiches are always a good bet, I don’t always get it together enough to make bread on the weekends, so I have been making some awesome grain and bean salads, often topped with baked tofu. This week’s was particularly yummy. It has the following:
1 1/2 cups of quinoa
1 1/2 cups of black-eyed peas
10 black olives
2 sweet red bell peppers, chopped

I start by layering a couple of handfuls of salad mix in a tupperware container, sprinkling the with balsamic vinegar and then topping that with the quinoa mix. Tomorrow I will bake some tofu to add on for Wednesday!

My favorite thing about this salad system is that I can make endless combos. I have used quinoa, brown rice and sushi rice as my grains, black beans, pinto beans, black-eyed peas and chickpeas as my “bean” and an assortment of vegetables (usually whatever we get in our CSA box). A hearty healthy lunch to munch on in lunch meetings!

From → Lunch, Salad

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

