Skip to content

Teacher appreciation week

May 10, 2012

Teacher Musings:

When I think about my influences as a teacher, of course my mind goes back to the teachers who did so much for me.  Today I would like to take a minute to say thanks to all my teachers who helped me become the learner, educator and citizen I am today.  There are, of course,  some standouts whose teaching I have a new respect for as I continue on this journey of teaching myself.

Thanks Elise Riddle (third grade) for not only teaching me to read, write and do math, but also how to eat politely at the “Velvet Turtle.”  You helped show me how teaching someone how to function in an adult world is as important as the “academics” sometimes.

Thanks Forest Gerdes (fourth grade) for making me think and feel like an artist, despite my complete lack of talent.  Your dedication to creative thinking has pushed me to not only be creative but also make room for creativity in my own classroom and family.

Thank you Mr. B (seventh grade science) who managed to hold onto his own religious beliefs and still encourage students (like me) to think for ourselves.

Thank you Ernie Dossa (high school) for taking a chance on a brash little freshman who loved basketball.  You made me tougher on the court and off.

Thank you Ms. Sullivan.  When I came to Lit 1 having already read all the books on your curriculum you steered me to Ender’s Game and let me do an alternative assignment.  Not only did that book change my life, but you showed me to always make room for the “outliers” in my classroom.

Thank you Vos.  I used your Bloom’s essay in my room for several years.  You made me do the work and do the thinking, and you always cared about your students beyond the four walls of your room.  You still inspire me (and my teaching) today.

Thank you Kelly K-G for always mentoring me as an educator and mother.  You have truly been a model for facilitating adult learning, and I only wish I had met you much earlier so I could have reaped the benefits of your wisdom sooner!

Thank you Peter Taylor and Nina Greewald.  Through your different styles you taught me to be far more open and creative in my thinking and my teaching.  You both managed to make me really think (and enjoy it) even a 9pm after 12 hour work day.  Your transparent and reflective teaching has made me a more reflective practitioner.  You helped me truly grow as a teacher at a time when I had started to stagnate.

Yummy Stuff:

We have finally found the curry paste we love for a price we can afford on Amazon!  Now we can use Thai Taste Red Curry Paste any time for a quick and easy weeknight meal!

Weeknight Curry

Ingredients

1 TB Thai Taste Red Curry Paste
1 can coconut milk
14-16 oz of tofu, drained and cut into bite sized cubes
1 bell pepper chopped, 1/2 cauliflower chopped (or use whatever veggie combo you want!)
Canola oil (in a spray can is great!)

Directions:

1) Spray (or drizzle) a bit of canola oil in a wok or pan (cast iron works best).  Turn heat to medium high and let the oil heat up for a minute.  Add the tofu and spread it out to evenly fit in the pan.  Let it cook 2-3 minutes, then flip, and let it cook for 2-3 minutes.  Continue until all the tofu cubes are brown and a bit crispy on at least 2 sides.
2) Add the veggies into the pan and stir fry for about 2 minutes, until slightly cooked.  (We sometimes cook them longer since we have a little guy, but I prefer the veggies a bit crispy for adults!)
3) Push the veggies and tofu off to the side and place the curry paste in the pan.  Break it up a bit and let it cook for 30 seconds to 1 minute.  The, pour in coconut milk and stir to dissolve the curry paste.
4) Mix the coconut/curry paste with the veggies and tofu until the veggies and tofu are totally covered.  Turn the heat down to medium and let it simmer for 3-4 minutes (or longer if necessary – you can always turn the heat down).  Serve curry over rice or quinoa.

From → Dinner

3 Comments
  1. Larry Vosovic permalink

    Marie I think Jill Dossa Anderson is on FB and could relay your message to Ernie — it really is inspiring when we get acknowledgement

    • Thanks Vos! If you’re friends with her, feel free to share the post! And thanks for everything, once again 🙂

      • Anonymous permalink

        He shared it with me and my dad was very touched. He loved his job and all the kids that went with it! Thanks for mentioning him :). It helps him to feel good about his ability as teacher and coach. He sure misses it!

Leave a Reply

