Skip to content

Reading Modes in YOUR Classrooms (Reading Modes Series Part 5)

July 8, 2015

I first started this blog as a way to write down my thoughts and reflections about teaching. Soon after it morphed into a place to record successes (and occasionally less-successful) classroom moments. In that vein I have used this Reading Modes Series to share the framework I use to shape most of the reading that happens in my ELA classroom. In the last few weeks I’ve described the three reading modes that create a reading framework in my classroom: Comprehension, Analysis, and Reading as Rehearsal for Real Life. I’ve focused on the relationship between the three in each post, such as

The Relationship between Comprehension and Analysis

The Relationship between Comprehension and Reading as Rehearsal for Real Life

The Relationship between Analysis and Reading as Rehearsal for Real Life

Screen Shot 2015-06-07 at 1.41.58 PM

There are two principles I hope that all my readers have taken away from this series:

1. There must be a BALANCE between these reading modes in the classroom. An over-emphasis on one or the other can lead to disengagement or miss a rich understanding of the text.

2. An INTEGRATED use of these modes will enhance the understandings, insights, and connections our students make with the text.

Now I’m hoping this series inspires new growth for this blog: more sharing from all the amazing educators out there! Today I’m making an unashamed plea for comments so that I (and my readers) can learn from YOU! If you read even just part of my Reading Modes Series, please share your ideas for how these reading modes work (or could work) in your classroom. Not sure what to say? Here are some questions that will spark ideas:

  • How do you already address these reading modes in your classroom?
  • What kinds of activities or lessons do you use to get students to engage in comprehension, analysis, and/or “big idea” reading
  • Which reading mode have you had the most success with in your classroom
  • What new ideas do you have for your classroom in the fall after reading these posts?

Please comment and leave your thoughts and insights, for me and the other readers! As always, thanks for reading and learning along with me!

From → Reading

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

